Welcome to my blog

Welcome to my blog. I am so glad you decided to stop by.

So, you want to know what this is all about?  Here it is.

I started this blog shortly after losing my job (yes, yet another casualty of this dreadful economy). What an absolute emotional roller coaster ride this journey (unemployment) has been! The “I hate the world,” “what is my purpose on this planet?” and “it’s not that bad…or is it?—No, it isn’t. Is it? um..?”  thoughts flood and swirl around, up and down. So, you can imagine my mindset is pretty negative these days. It also probably doesn’t help that I live in an area of downtown Vancouver where the parade of money, as I like to call it, is full frontal. To give you an idea, I live in an area of Vancouver where tiny sweater-wearing dogs are carried around in handbags and dog strollers (have you seen these?!? Don’t get me started!), where one can pick up a $5 latte on almost any corner of any street and where having a Porsche, Maserati, Ferrari or Bentley cut you off as you go to cross the street is not uncommon. Money and people’s love and obsession with name brands and the latest “it” item is all around here.

I feel like our obsession with things is taking over and we are losing touch with one another. Do you have an elevator in your building? I do. More regularly than not I enter the elevator and no one says hi. Like, elevators are not awkward enough! And, when I hold the door open for someone walking behind me, I don’t even get a glance, let alone a thank you. Perhaps, the best display of a complete lack of regard for one another is the grocery store, on a busy Sunday. Picture it: absolute chaos, as people gather their grocery suppliers for the week ahead, shopping carts everywhere, narrow aisles and long line ups at the cash registers. It always amazes me (and frustrates me) to see the number of people who abandon their grocery carts in the middle of the aisle while they browse, as if they were the only person shopping that day, creating an unnecessary backlog of traffic behind them. Try to attempt to squeeze by and these individuals will make no effort to move, get out of the way, or apologize. Urgh! We are so entitled in our world, it’s like we are regressing as a society back into the wild, wild, west and every man for himself.

I grew up being taught to think of our world like a small pond. When you throw a stone in the water, the ripples it creates will reach every point of the pond.  Our every actions are like stones. There is a good chance that everything we do affects someone else in some way, yet we seem to care less and less.

In an attempt to feel like all is not lost, like it is worth bringing children into our world I have decided to create a blog focusing on good deed stories.

I envisioned this blog to be the equivalent of the afternoon treat: that soy chai tea latte, chocolate, or vending machine trip to get you through the rest of your day; that little piece of brief serenity, when all is good with the world again, even if only for a moment.

I hope you enjoy these little pick me ups and come back for more.

About thepickmeup

I am an ordinary thirty-something living a pretty ordinary life. I enjoy my wine, food, photography, traveling and the great outdoors. But lately, I am not happy with the state of my world. Particularly, with the increase in the complete and utter lack of consideration for other people. As I near the age and time in my life where I consider bringing offspring into the world, I wonder whether I should. Maybe I can make a change. Could ordinary me make a change through awareness by spreading word of good deeds to inspire and motivate others to do the same? I don't know, but it's worth the experiment to find out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

